Post Classifieds

MPA program established

By ETSU News Bureau
On February 10, 2013

A new Master of Public Administration Advisory Committee has been established by the Department of Political Science, International Affairs and Public Administration at East Tennessee State University. This committee will provide community input concerning the M.P.A. program.
"Our committee members are accomplished public professionals who have much to contribute from their experiences in public and non-profit service," says David Briley, M.P.A. program director. "The esteemed members of the committee provide invaluable points of contact for members of the community to share their comments and suggestions for the future of the ETSU Master of Public Administration program."
The M.P.A. faculty and the advisory committee are focused on revising the program in preparation for achieving accreditation by the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration, which will enhance the value of the M.P.A. program and the degrees it produces.
To become accredited, an M.P.A. program must successfully meet the NASPAA standards for professional master's degree programs in public affairs, policy and administration.
These standards are the quality benchmark used by graduate public service programs around the world, according to the organization's website,
Among the program components under review for accreditation are: required, elective and professional competencies; curriculum; assessment methods; administrative capacity; faculty governance; faculty qualifications and diversity; faculty research, scholarship and service; student recruitment, admissions, diversity and support; communications; and resource adequacy.
Briley says that this comprehensive project is a collaborative effort among faculty, administration, the community and the state.
He invites students, alumni, employers and the public to become involved and provide input by contacting committee members and M.P.A. faculty with questions, thoughts and ideas regarding the program.
The M.P.A. Advisory Committee is chaired by Charlie Stahl, assistant city manager of Johnson City. Other members are Blaine E. Wade (vice chair), chief of police, Bristol; John Campbell, city manager of Kingsport; Angela Claxton-Freeman, a doctor of education student at ETSU; Tilden "Jeff" Fleming, assistant city manager for development, Kingsport; Pat Hardy, municipal management consultant with Municipal Technical Assistance Service, Johnson City; Stan Harrison, regional director, Tennessee State National Floodplain Insurance Program; Gary H. Hensley, former city manager, Maryville; Susan McKinney, doctoral student, Valdosta (Ga.) State University; Steve Neilson, development coordinator, Johnson City; Kevin Whalen, First Tennessee Human Resource District, Johnson City; Tim Whaley, director, Community and Government Relations, Kingsport; and Angie Carrier, director of Development Services, Johnson City. Stahl, Wade, Claxton-Freeman, Hardy, Harrison, Hensley, McKinney, Neilson, Whalen and Carrier are all alumni of the program.
Faculty members of the M.P.A. program and their contact information are David Briley,, 423- 439-6697; Lon Felker,, 439-5789; Rebecca Keeler,, 439-4764; and Paul Trogen,, 439-5374.

Get Top Stories Delivered Weekly

More easttennessean News Articles

Recent easttennessean News Articles

Discuss This Article



Log In

or Create an account

Employers & Housing Providers

Employers can list job opportunities for students

Post a Job

Housing Providers can list available housing

Post Housing

Log In

Forgot your password?

Your new password has been sent to your email!

Logout Successful!

You just missed it! This listing has been filled.

Post your own housing listing on Uloop and have students reach out to you!

Upload An Image

Please select an image to upload
Note: must be in .png, .gif or .jpg format
Provide URL where image can be downloaded
Note: must be in .png, .gif or .jpg format